To access the forum, please use same account as at fsAerodata

fsAerodata and Prepar3D v5

Post Reply
fsaerodata
Site Admin
Posts: 800
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:09 am

fsAerodata and Prepar3D v5

Post by fsaerodata » Wed Apr 15, 2020 11:24 am

Hello all,
The latest Prepar3D v5 released includes for the first time an overhaul of the default navigation database bringing it to an up-to-date status. The changes include among others: airport layout, runways, ILS, navaids, airways, airport comms, approaches, SIDs, STARs.

When compared with the official cycles from Jeppesen, the navdata is not consistent across all countries and types; some ILS data are from a cycle in 2018, others like VORs,NDB, approaches are from 2019. Aprox. 2-3% of navaids ,runways could be outdated, and 16% on approaches.

The areas that haven't been changed are the following: airways, comms agent names, frequencies with 8.33kHz spacing, and airspace including the ARTCC sectors and its center frequencies.

Since the aim of our product is to bring the outdated navigation database of FSX and Prepar3D v2-v4 to current conditions, we believe the new version does not make it necessary at this time to use our database along with Prepar3D v5.

Besides, the functionalities that were available to update some navigation data are broken, and this together with changes in the BGL file formats (they are used to store navigation data) would require a completely different database architecture tailored to this version, and the need to replace original files can counterproductive.

Until a new version compatible with Prepar3D v5 is available, we're working on the next generation of aeronautical databases with new content for FSX, Prepar3D, and the upcoming MSFS.

Enjoy the new platform and stay safe!
Jose L. Rubio / fsAerodata
Follow us on Twitter https://twitter.com/fsaerodata

jabloomf1230
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2017 10:13 pm

Re: fsAerodata and Prepar3D v5

Post by jabloomf1230 » Wed Apr 15, 2020 11:23 pm

Do you know if the FSAD ARTCC file will work in V5? I didn't see any changes to the BGL format for boundary files, but I could have missed something. You might want to consider selling a single purchase ($5) just for the ARTCC file. Or not. The V5 BGL airport record has new entries. The V4 runway subrecord type is updated to include information for sloped runways. There are new subrecord types for sloped aprons, taxipaths, etc.. Here's a bit of what I discovered so far:

https://www.avsim.com/forums/topic/5728 ... nt=4207460

pracines
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 12:41 am

Re: fsAerodata and Prepar3D v5

Post by pracines » Fri Apr 17, 2020 12:37 am

Hi Jose,

I trust/hope, if you wish, that there is a future for FSAerodata in MSFS.

I certainly appreciate all you do and have done for this flight sim community.

Paul

fsaerodata
Site Admin
Posts: 800
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:09 am

Re: fsAerodata and Prepar3D v5

Post by fsaerodata » Fri Apr 17, 2020 7:47 am

pracines wrote:
Fri Apr 17, 2020 12:37 am
I trust/hope, if you wish, that there is a future for FSAerodata in MSFS.

I certainly appreciate all you do and have done for this flight sim community.
Thanks, Paul. Actually we're working on a next-gen database for MSFS and Prepar3D.
Jose L. Rubio / fsAerodata
Follow us on Twitter https://twitter.com/fsaerodata

philipjoep
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2019 1:15 am

Re: fsAerodata and Prepar3D v5

Post by philipjoep » Wed Apr 22, 2020 7:27 pm

Hi Jose...

Maybe I'm confused. Is the next gen database only for Prepar3d v2-4, or have you changed your mind since your original post and plan extend functionality to v5?

Also want to say that I really appreciate your product and hope it continues into v5!

Thanks!

fsaerodata
Site Admin
Posts: 800
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:09 am

Re: fsAerodata and Prepar3D v5

Post by fsaerodata » Wed Apr 22, 2020 8:08 pm

Should include P3D v5 and the new MSFS. Since the functions via SDK, that were available to update the navigation data are almost broken after P3D v4 HF2, it's required to do several changes in the architecture of the database, that I need to think more in detail.

Other solutions to quickly deliver an updated navdata, like modified bgl files, would infringe LM copyrights, so we need to continue using the SDK.

For the time being, the data available on P3D5 v5 is pretty much up-to-date on the main areas, until the new product is ready.
Regards,
Jose L. Rubio / fsAerodata
Follow us on Twitter https://twitter.com/fsaerodata

wrap23
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 1:21 am

Re: fsAerodata and Prepar3D v5

Post by wrap23 » Thu Apr 23, 2020 4:48 pm

Hello Jose,
They say there are no stupid questions. Hope I'm not going to prove that statement wrong!
I'm just a pilot and a user of fsAerodata, Navigraph Data and Navigraph Charts. I don't understand the nuts and bolts of creating an accurate sim environment. As I update my aircraft and add on data through Navigraph, will it be compatible with LM's nav data? Is it possible for my 777 FMS to have different data than the base P3Dv5 data as I continue to update the Nav Cycles?

Thanks,
Don Spence

somiller
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 11:46 pm

Re: fsAerodata and Prepar3D v5

Post by somiller » Sat Apr 25, 2020 12:51 am

Just so you know, I will continue to purchase fsaerodata subscriptions for P3Dv5 as soon as you make it available.

Kind Regards,
Steven Miller

Julaibi
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 11:35 pm

Re: fsAerodata and Prepar3D v5

Post by Julaibi » Sat May 16, 2020 7:13 pm

Hello i installed P3D v5 &Fsaerodata when i run P3D it caused to crash p3d

Any help

Post Reply